opencat
OpenCat gives iOS and macOS users one app for chatting with multiple AI models, generating images, translating text, and using voice chat. Its keyboard extension and Siri Shortcuts bring AI access into other apps.
One of 148 tools in Chatbots & Assistants
Who it's for
- iOS and macOS users who want to chat with multiple AI models in one app.
- People who want AI access while working in apps such as Messages, Notes, or Mail through a keyboard extension.
- Teams interested in sharing AI chat experiences and tips through OpenCat for Team.
How it fits your workflow
Download the Mac app from the website or get the iOS app from the App Store, then start a chat with an AI assistant. Choose among multiple AI models and interact by text or voice; image chat, translation, and text-to-image generation are also described.
For access outside the app, use the keyboard extension in apps such as Messages, Notes, and Mail, or invoke chat through Siri Shortcuts. The page also describes team sharing and iCloud syncing of conversations and settings across devices.
Pricing
Free: OpenCat Free is described as a free way to get started and includes the prompt library, Markdown rendering, multiple models, and various extra features.
OpenCat Free
Free
- · Prompt Library
- · Markdown Rendering
- · Multiple Models
- · Various extra features
OpenCat Pro
$9.99 (billing interval not specified in the supplied content)
- · Keyboard Extension
- · iCloud Sync
- · Siri Integration
- · Text to Speech
Cloud AI
$2.99 and $19.99 are displayed; the billing intervals are not specified in the supplied content.
- · GPT access with multiple models
- · Voice chat
- · Vision chat
- · Text-to-image generation
Prices checked on Oct 10, 2026 from the vendor's site. They can change; confirm before you buy.
Key features
- Multiple AI models
- Choose among different AI models to chat with different AI assistants.
- Voice chat
- Talk with AI using voice and receive responses for hands-free conversations.
- Text-to-image generation
- Create images from text prompts.
- Image chat
- Use images and emojis in chat conversations.
- Translation
- Translate text between languages.
- Keyboard input
- Use AI from a keyboard extension in apps such as Messages, Notes, and Mail.
Works with
- Siri and Siri Shortcuts
- iCloud
- Messages, Notes, and Mail
Limitations to know
- The FAQ identifies iOS and macOS availability; the supplied content does not identify versions for other operating systems.
- The supplied pricing text does not specify the billing intervals associated with the displayed $9.99, $2.99, and $19.99 amounts.
Alternatives to consider
-
CloseChat
Choose it if you need an AI chat client across Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, and Android rather than OpenCat's stated iOS and macOS availability.
-
Chatbox AI
Choose it if you want a multi-platform AI app that also includes real-time web search, local knowledge bases, and Work Mode workflows.
-
ThinkBoxAI
Choose it if you specifically want a desktop client connecting to the OpenAI API with your own API key and a pay-as-you-go workflow.
Getting started
- Download OpenCat for Mac from the website or download the iOS app from the App Store.
- Open the app and start a chat with an AI assistant.
- Try features such as multiple models, voice chat, and the prompt library; upgrade to Pro if needed.
Frequently asked questions
Is OpenCat available for iOS and macOS?
Yes. The page says OpenCat is available for iOS and macOS, with the iOS app available from the App Store and a macOS download on the website.
How secure is OpenCat?
The page says OpenCat uses encryption techniques to protect data and states that conversations and personal information are safe.
Can OpenCat be used for business purposes?
Yes. The FAQ says it can be used for personal and business purposes and mentions integrating it with apps to support communication and productivity.
Is there a free trial for OpenCat Pro?
Yes. The page says there is a 3-day free trial before deciding whether to subscribe.
Can OpenCat be used on multiple devices?
Yes. The FAQ says to download the app on each device and log in to an iCloud account; conversations and settings will sync across devices.
How can a subscription be canceled?
The FAQ says to visit the website, log in to the account, and manage or cancel the subscription there.
How much does OpenCat cost?
The page says OpenCat is free to download and use, with premium features requiring a subscription. It displays $9.99 for OpenCat Pro and $2.99 and $19.99 in the Cloud AI pricing area, without specifying the billing intervals for those amounts.